Showcase
Showcase your work that you have created in the Skyline Game Engine.

Procedural Island

Re: Procedural Island

Postby planetX » 29 Jul 2018, 17:12

Hi there,

so finally could attach the axe and put this guy to work. :D



Here I show the melee attack implementation. It's based on raycast. Only the entity which collides with the ray receives the damage. The physics and the particles are still a bit funky, but more or less you get the idea.



I've just seen some "class" based scripts from the system library and I think I have to try to implement something like that to manage all the resources in the island. Just need to understand how classes work. :D

My specs: Windows 10 - Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz - 16 Gb ram DDR4 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 Gb

planetX
Skyline Mage
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 28 Nov 2016, 18:27
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer

Re: Procedural Island

Postby SolarPortal » 29 Jul 2018, 17:20

Very nice :P Love the tree effect. I also see the bone attach in play :P

As for the base classes, use the "System Library\Scripts\Base Classes\Game Systems\Example_BaseClass.lua" as a base as you just need to replace the bits and then use it :P
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3069
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Procedural Island

Postby planetX » 29 Jul 2018, 17:36

Thanks, I'm just trying to figure out how I should organize the code as I'm very new to OOP programming and need to understand basic concepts first, but I'm pretty sure that's the way to go.

My specs: Windows 10 - Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz - 16 Gb ram DDR4 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 Gb

planetX
Skyline Mage
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 28 Nov 2016, 18:27
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer

Re: Procedural Island

Postby SolarPortal » 29 Jul 2018, 17:56

yes, OOP is very powerful and a lot easier to manage larger code bases since classes give you the ability to repurpose a lot of code and make simpler calls to larger snippets.

However, Lua does not have classes, but using the example class does make it possible, with lua; you just have to go about it your own way and sort of make the OOP classes instead.

The classes we provide are just tables that can be reinstantiated.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3069
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Procedural Island

Postby planetX » 30 Jul 2018, 16:12

Found this OOP library to work with "classes" in lua, what do you think? Does it makes sense to use it?

Not sure if I can use the "require" function in Skyline, tried long time ago and had some trouble, but probably I was doing something wrong... what's the difference between require and include?

https://github.com/Yonaba/Lua-Class-System

My specs: Windows 10 - Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz - 16 Gb ram DDR4 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 Gb

planetX
Skyline Mage
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 28 Nov 2016, 18:27
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer

Re: Procedural Island

Postby SolarPortal » 30 Jul 2018, 17:51

Require pulled from a compiled library if i remember correctly.

Include adds the script into the main script as it is ran so it becomes one big mega script lol :P

I would try our class technique to start with, probably a lot simpler! :P lol
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3069
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Procedural Island

Postby planetX » 31 Jul 2018, 18:23

SolarPortal wrote:I would try our class technique to start with, probably a lot simpler! :P lol


You're totally right. :D I've already created an inherited class and printed a value which is taken from the parent class... seems to be pretty straight forward. 8-)

My specs: Windows 10 - Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz - 16 Gb ram DDR4 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 Gb

planetX
Skyline Mage
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 28 Nov 2016, 18:27
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer

Previous

Return to Showcase

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron